eISSN : 2146-9369
Creative Commons Lisansı
Journal of Clinical and Experimental Investigations is licenced under the terms of Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial4.0 International (CC BY-NC 4.0) License.
Abstract - The effects of four different drugs administered through catheters on slime production in coagulase negative Staphylococci
Julide Sedef Göçmen, Ünase Büyükkoçak, Alpay Azap, Yasemin Pekuz, Osman Çağlayan

Objective: Higher rate of slime production has been found in pathogen bacteria strains. Accordingly, the factors that contribute to higher slime production rate increase the infection risk, while the factors that reduce the slime production rate will reduce the infection risk. The effect of some drugs that are administered through catheters in intensive care units on slime production with coagulase negative Staphylococci was investigated.

Methods: In this study, the effect of four different preparations containing Glyceryl trinitrate (Perlinganit®), Dexmedetomidine (Precedex®), Esmolol (Brevibloc®), and Propofol (Propofol®) on slime production of 24 Staphylococcus epidermidis strains isolated from blood cultures of patients, and reference strain were investigated. Slime production was determined using ‘the quantitative microdilution plaque test’ described by Christensen.

Results: Under controlled medium, eight strains formed slimes, and in the media containing esmolol, glyceryl trinitrate, dexmedetomidine, and propofol slimes were positive for five, 21, 15, and 18 strains, respectively. The rate of slime production in glyceryl trinitrate, dexmedetomidine, and propofol containing media were higher than that of the controls.

Conclusions: In the light of the results of this study, it is concluded that the drugs and/or additives increase the rate of slime production. The effects of the preparations administered through catheters on slime production should be investigated, and these effects should be kept in mind during their use. J Microbiol Infect Dis 2012; 2(4): 150-154

Volume 02, Number 04 (2012)